Podcasting as Meaning Exchange

Originally published at: https://decentered.co.uk/podcasting-as-meaning-exchange/

I had a good day at Leicestershire Cares yesterday, running a podcasting training session. It was the first time in ages that I’ve run a session in person by myself, though I needn’t have worried, as I was made to feel very welcome by the team of Leicestershire Cares staff.

We talked a lot about inspiring young people to discuss their experiences in a way that they would be confident can be turned into a podcast. The idea of using podcasting as not just an information or entertainment product, but as a personal and community development tool is something I’ve been exploring in my work for many years.

Podcasting for personal growth and social development probably isn’t what most people think would be a benefit of sitting chatting and recording, then sharing, that conversation. However, there are many benefits to this process, and it was great to be able to explore them with people who work in similar ways.

The adage that community media is ten percent media, and ninety percent community, means that the skills and experience of the team at Leicestershire Cares was an easy fit with the approach. If the process is handled correctly, I think podcasting can become a very effective reflexive tool for personal growth and development, particularly for people who don’t see themselves as having a place in our mainstream media.

We noted that there are two groups of people that we need to think about in different ways. The first need to build their confidence and be reassured that there is an underpinning to their lives and social experience. They need a floor on which to stand that is certain and offers them security. Alternatively, once that security is established and is stable, then there is no ceiling to limit their potential, but they have a strong sense of what their imagination and creativity might lift them up to.